Yoga Kundalini Upanishad � Part 3

Because of passion a person craves for sense objects. One should give up passion and sense objects and look for stainless. All favorable things should be abandoned.

A practitioner should keep mind in shakti and shakti in mind. When he sees mind through mind he goes beyond the highest stage.

Mind is Bindu � the cause of creation and preservation.

The way curd is made from milk, from mind Bindu is produced. Having known Sushumna and piercing of chakras the Vayu should be taken in the middle. He should then enter Sahasrara or Sukha� Mandala.

There are six chakras. Muladhara is in anus, Swadhisthana in genital organs, Manipura in navel, Anahata in heart, Vishuddhi in the root of neck and Ajna is between two eyebrows. After knowing these six chakras one should enter Sahasrara by drawing Vayu upwards.

He who practices control of Vayu becomes Brahmanda or Macrocosm. Bindu, Chitta and Chakra should be mastered by him.

Through Samadhi Yogi attains the equilibrium.

The way fire in the sacrificial wood is not produced without churning them, wisdom doesn�t dawns without the practice of Yoga.

Fire in a vessel does not shed light outside. But when the vessel is broken the light appears everywhere.

One�s body is vessel. The seat of "That" is light. When the body is broken because of Guru�s grace the light of Brahmajana becomes apparent.

Because of the guidance of Guru and practice one crosses the subtle body and sea of Samsara.

The speech born in Para, goes in Pasyanti then in Madhyama and then in Vaikhari. The speech is absorbed in sound in the reverse order.

Para, Pasyanti, Madhyama and Vaikhari are the four types of speech. Para is the highest of sounds, whereas Vaikhari is the lowest.

Speech evolves from highest to lowest. During absorption it reverses the order and merges in Para.

One who thinks that the Lord of speech is the self, remains unaffected by good or bad words.

These all are absorbed in Pratyagatma i.e. Visva, Taijasa and Prajna, Virat, Hiranyagarbha and Ishwara, the egg of the universe, the egg of man and seven worlds. The egg is heated by the fire of knowledge and is absorbed along with its cause in Paramatman.

It is then free from light or darkness, it is neither describable nor distinguishable. Only Sat remains.

Atman in the body is like in vessel. Atman is of the size of thumb. It is light without smoke. It is formless and ever shining within the body. It is un-differentiable and immortal.

The first three facets of consciousness refer to gross, subtle and karana bodies. The later three facets of consciousness refer to three bodies of the universe.

During waking state, dreams and deep sleep Atman that dwells in the body is covered by Maya.

However, because of good karma of several births it wishes to go back to its original state.

Then man asks � Who am I? How this worldly experience come to me? In deep sleep what becomes of me? Who remains active during waking and dreaming states?

The chidabhasa is due to ignorance. It is burnt by wisdom as cotton is burnt by fire.

The burning of the gross body is not burning at all.

Pratyagatma is in the space of heart. It diffuses itself all over and destroys Vijanamaya Kosha and Manomaya Kosha. When this happens He himself shines within.

One who contemplates as above is Jivanamukta.

He has completed his actions. He is lucky one. He attains Videhamukti and gives up event Jivanamukti. As soon as his body decays he attains Videhamukti. He as if moves in air.

Then That alone remains. One that is soundless, touchless, formless and deathless.

That is the essence. It is eternal. It has neither beginning nor end. It is permanent, stainless and free from decay.

-- End of Chapter 3 --

Bipin Joshi is an independent software consultant, trainer, author, yoga mentor, and meditation teacher with over 24 years of experience in classical form of Yoga. He is an internationally published author and has authored or co-authored more than twelve books on .NET technologies. He has been awarded as a Most Valuable Professional by Microsoft. He has also written a few Marathi books including Devachya Davya Hati and Natha Sankentincha Danshu. Having embraced the Yoga way of life he also teaches Ajapa Yoga to selected individuals.

Get article updates : Facebook  Twitter  LinkedIn

Posted On : 06 August 2007

Tags : Yoga Upanishads Vedanta Kundalini Chakras Shakti

Subscribe to our newsletter

Get monthly email updates about our Yoga and Spirituality articles as they get added to our websites.


Receive Weekly Updates