Kevala Kumbhaka and Raja Yoga

Once spontaneous breath retention [Kevala Kumbhaka] is mastered there is nothing unattainable to a Yogi. By the practice of Kevala Kumbhaka he can retain prana [life force] as long as he wants. Practice of Kevala Kumbhaka leads to Raja Yoga. Without Hatha Yoga there cannot be Raja Yoga and without Raja Yoga there cannot be Hatha Yoga. Hence, a Yogi must practice both.
~ Goraksha Paddhati

Note : Classic Yoga texts describe four main types of Yoga viz. Mantra, Hatha, Laya and Raja. Kundalini Yoga is an umbrella term that refers to a combination of practices from any of these four types for the sake of awakening the latent Kundalini Shakti [Adhyatma Shakti or spiritual energy].

Posted On : 01 October 2012

Tags : Yoga Hatha Yoga Raja Yoga Kundalini Thoughts

Subscribe to our newsletter

Get monthly email updates about our Yoga and Spirituality articles as they get added to our websites.


Receive Weekly Updates