First limb of Raja Yoga - Yama

The first limb of Raja Yoga is Yama. Yama are five in number. They are:

  • Ahimsa (non-violence)
  • Satya (truth)
  • Asteya (non-stealing)
  • Brahmacharya (continence) and
  • Aparigraha (non-avariciousness)

As you can see Yoga has included "values of life" as a part of Yogic practices. In modern world you may find people who claim claim that in order to attain Yoga only certain Pranayam or Asanas are to be done. Take it for sure that such people do not know what is Yoga. They just read some books and tell dry things to their followers. Many times practitioner complain that even after doing various Asanas and Pranayams they can not see any improvement in them. The key think such people lack is observance of Yama and Niyama. It is 100% truth that Yoga is attained ONLY by one who has perfected himself in Yamas and Niyamas. Following Yama in strict sense in very difficult for most of us. However, that doesn't reduce its importance. If you want good fruits then you must nourish the tree well. It's the same thing with Yoga.

In next posts I will tell you some stories about above qualities just to reinforce their importance.

Bipin Joshi is an independent software consultant, trainer, author, yoga mentor, and meditation teacher with over 24 years of experience in classical form of Yoga. He is an internationally published author and has authored or co-authored more than twelve books on .NET technologies. He has been awarded as a Most Valuable Professional by Microsoft. He has also written a few Marathi books including Devachya Davya Hati and Natha Sankentincha Danshu. Having embraced the Yoga way of life he also teaches Ajapa Yoga to selected individuals.

Get article updates : Facebook  Twitter  LinkedIn

Posted On : 27 May 2005

Tags : Yoga Patanjali Raja Yoga Ashtanga Yoga

Subscribe to our newsletter

Get monthly email updates about our Yoga and Spirituality articles as they get added to our websites.


Receive Weekly Updates